Album Review
by Scott Sterling-Wilder

Print this article
  More on: Various

Winter Chill 06.04: Tracks From The Darker Side Of Chill
  Album Review - 14-1-2005
Freddy Vs Jason
  Album Review - 13-8-2003
Inspired by Genius: Ray Charles's covers
Various: 'Inspired By Genius - The Music Of Ray Charles'
'Inspired By Genuis' - recommended album

Sir Macca features on Ray Charlesís tribute LP, alongside a host of other veteran performers.

ĎInspired By Genius - The Music Of Ray Charlesí was released on 04 July but there was hardly any adverts for it although it is an ace collection.

Sir Paul McCartney has contributed to a new Ray Charles tribute album, 'Inspired By Genius - The Music of Ray Charles', released through EMI; Macca's is live take on 'Donít Let The Sun Catch You Crying'.

The full tracklisting is as follows:

1. The Animals: 'Mess Around'
2. Manfred Mann: 'Sticks And Stones'
3. Eddie Cochran: 'Hallelujah I Love Her So'
4. Jerry Lee Lewis: 'What'd I Say'
5. Freddie King: 'Leave My Woman Alone'
6. Love Sculpture: 'I Believe To My Soul'
7. George Thorogood: 'I'm Movin' On'
8. Jackie de Shannon: 'This Little Boy Of Mine'
9. Sir Paul McCartney: 'Donít Let The Sun Catch You Crying' (live)
10. The Band: 'Georgia On My Mind'
11. Ruth Brown and Bonnie Raitt: 'Iím Gonna Move To The Outskirts Of Town'
12. Joe Cocker: 'Unchain My Heart'
13. Dianne Reeves and Lou Rawls: 'Baby, Itís Cold Outside'
14. Nancy Wilson: 'I Can'T Stop Loving You'
15. The Animals: 'The Right Time'
16. Chuck Brown and Eva Cassidy: 'You Don't Know Me'
17. Steve Miller: 'Mary Ann'
18. Jools Holland: 'In The Heat Of The Night'
19. Terry Reid: 'I've Got News For You'
20. The Spencer Davis Group: 'I'll Drown In My Own Tears'
21. Jimmy McGriff: 'I've Got A Woman'

Quite educational, actually.


Scott Sterling-Wilder